On vegetable gardens and a little spring salad

The flowers have bloomed on fava bean plants.
Rocket, has already made its way to dishes and plates.
There has been omelets flavoured with herbs,
and fresh pesto filling my jars.

fava flower

Potato plant

parsley

fava

 
It's certainly a great feeling to know what's in my plate,
and with the outmost respect, I harvest my veg.
I cook them with grace and display them like jewels.

IMG_5800

fava and rocket pesto salad

 
Even a small urban garden gives more that it takes!

Photographs © Stella Pereira

5 responses

  1. Nice shots, you’ve got the light just right! Looks like I could reach out and pick up that lettuce!

    June 14, 2012 at 3:06 PM

    • Thank you! The light today is amazing in Cambridge.

      June 14, 2012 at 4:05 PM

  2. Good to hear, I’m from a different Cambridge (in the US). Light is nice here today too!

    June 14, 2012 at 4:12 PM

  3. Your images are stunning yet again, but I’m truly in love with that shot of the green peas against that almost ebony back ground. Glorious!

    June 15, 2012 at 12:43 AM

    • Thank you! So glad you like it.

      June 15, 2012 at 7:21 AM

Leave a comment