On Studio Walls

Studio Wall in b/w

So much of my time lately has been spent
within these beautiful studio walls.
There's this beaming light, basting every uncovered surface.
Walls quickly filling with illustrations of Portuguese Girls,
boats that lay Adrift and an ever growing 52FACES

The sounds are what I like the most, 
voices of chirping passers by, 
in all sorts of timbres and tones,
rushing in constantly from the busy street outside my open windows.
I love the sound of footsteps, clicking heels and rolling bicycle wheels.

The Paint on my palette never gets washed off,
instead cadmium hues and marine blue
are layered in endless combinations of grey.
I like that the next painting or illustration 
has a little of the previous one in it.
Almost like it evolved from the other. 

A little of my beautiful mess...

xx Stella

patterns bouy circles

studio succulents

cactus and cup

brushes and red paint

gouache palette paints

illustration detail on my desk

Hand printed furoshiki parcel

Find me on Facebook and Instagram // Or click for the SHOP
10 responses

  1. Nice!

    August 6, 2013 at 10:26 PM

  2. Life is a beautiful mess. It’s as if all the sounds goes into your paintings. Love it Stella!

    August 6, 2013 at 11:03 PM

    • Koko life is a mess, and that’s what makes it so beautiful. And that you so much for you beautiful comment, so appreciative that you take the time to look at my art

      August 7, 2013 at 7:54 AM

  3. Beautiful – I love seeing the creation of art as much as seeing the end result!

    August 7, 2013 at 4:09 AM

  4. I almost felt like I was in there with you. ❤

    August 7, 2013 at 1:39 PM

    • Carly, and what perfect company it would be 🙂

      August 8, 2013 at 8:05 AM

  5. ganzaart

    So beautiful, really 🙂

    August 9, 2013 at 2:37 PM

  6. Beautiful insight into your creative space.

    September 17, 2013 at 1:08 PM

Leave a Reply

