My Portuguese Kitchen | Arroz de Marisco

arroz de marisco

Lately, I've been surrounded
by beautiful, inspiring food.
These past few days,
we got talking with passionate
food loving shop owners.

We peaked at the Cambridge food scene.
Eat Cambridge, certainly did lay it out.
And what an amazing array
of our local pantry, it was.

Also, one of my CAKES made it to the
Norfolk Street BAKERY Stall!
And I'm pretty chuffed at that...

It all got me thinking 
of My Portuguese Kitchen!

Arroz de Marisco, to be precise...
It's Portuguese Seafood rice,
and can I just say, 
It has to be top on that list.

arroz de marisco ingredients



The rules of this dish?

Everyone needs to be at the table, 
as it is served pipping hot,
straight off the burner,
still with plenty of liquid, 
almost a soupy consistency.

With a final sprinkle of
freshly chopped coriander
or parsley if you like to bend the rules!!!


Enjoy!

arroz de marisco

10 responses

  1. Pingback: Finally… Recognition for my late night efforts | Why is her so stroppy?

  2. You put a new meaning to recipe writing! Love it!

    March 13, 2013 at 7:03 AM

  3. OMG! This so recalls the foods I used to eat at my Gramma’s when we visited their dairy farm on summer vacations!! (My mother’s parents immigrated from the Azores in the early 1900s). It also reminded me that, as a child, I looked forward to Easter because Gramma would send us a box full of her special goodies. I remember a big loaf of sweet bread braided with an egg (still in the shell) on top, lengths of linguisa, and (her specialty), a jar of strawberry jam she had put up the previous summer…there was always a big can of abalone, too–because my mother loved it, and abalone was scarce in northern Montana.

    I’m so glad you stopped by My Favorite Things this morning. It lead me to you and to the childhood memories your blog brought back to me. I think I’ll go see if I can find Gramma’s recipe for sweet bread–my mother left me a box of recipes she loved. Many of them are in *her* mother’s handwriting. (a little hard to read, but she was so proud of learning to read and write English so she could become an American citizen).

    March 15, 2013 at 9:20 PM

  4. Muito bom arroz de marisco. 😉

    March 15, 2013 at 10:15 PM

  5. manuelavillada

    Yom Yom!

    March 18, 2013 at 4:10 PM

  6. SO original- your presentation, so beautiful. A cookbook must be in the offing…;) I will be hanging your recipes in my kitchen!..;)?

    March 20, 2013 at 6:37 PM

    • Ohhh thanks Tara! Now that would be a treat, it’s overwhelming to even think that you may hang one of my little recipes in your home 🙂 A cookbook? Now that’s inspiring!

      March 21, 2013 at 6:21 PM

  7. Wow you’re such a great artist! Love your work!

    March 22, 2013 at 4:25 PM

  8. I love your beautifully delicate watercolors, and your recipes:)

    March 27, 2013 at 8:13 PM

    • Elena! You make me smile… So honored that you like what I do. You are an amazing artist

      March 28, 2013 at 11:00 AM

Leave a Reply

