To sunnier days and London charm

Notting Hill portobello magnets

Hello!

How wonderful to see you.
Are you well and rested?

My weekend was grand,
we spent it well, 
doing the usual things
that make you feel like home,
we sat around friendly tables 
and ate good Portuguese food,
we played and joked and stayed up til late. 
What else would you need? 

It's subtile and warm here today! Β 
What a great start to a busy week. 
The sun seems a little shy at the moment,Β 
but promises to come out to 
play a little, later on today
and thats enough to make me smile.

Days like these remind me
of trips we took
a little while back.
Through places that had been home 
for more than a handful of years.

The kind of trip that makes you feel
like a tourist in old familiar streets.
It got me falling back in love with London,
it's quaint pathways and eclectic colours. 
London has a habit of weaving you in,
into its magic and unmistakable charm.

Have you tried being a tourist in your home?
Have a Great Monday too! 

xxx

Notting hill london

 

 

 

notting hill london 2

 

 

 

Close up blue house notting hill london

 

 

 

 

 

Notting hill purple pink house loondon

 

 

 

 

 

street art signs notting hill london

 

 

 

 

 

Portobello road london

 

 

 

 

 

Portobello road london alley way

18 responses

  1. Catia

    I like the photo of the house with the ivy on it! So romantic looking πŸ™‚

    I’m from London too (but in Ontario, Canada) πŸ˜€

    March 4, 2013 at 1:38 PM

    • Ola Catia! Portobello road is my favorite London Spot. All that thrifty shopping and the colour on those old brick walls! Love them. Perhaps you should plan a tiny trip to this London too… But be sure to see Notting Hill on a Sunny Sunday πŸ™‚

      March 4, 2013 at 8:28 PM

  2. Great! What memories. I know all the places in the photos, as I lived on Elgin Crescent, just off the Portobello Road for many years. I also ran antique and bric-a-brac stalls on the market, one under the Westway flyover, and one on the Portobello.

    Now I live in Andalusia, Spain.

    March 4, 2013 at 4:37 PM

    • Hi Bryan! Andalusia sounds nice but you’re really missing sunny England πŸ˜‰ Are you dipping your toes in the warm sand already? I must have stalked your Bric-a-brac at some point. It was my favorite place to be when I lived a London life. Ahhh all that Vintage…

      March 4, 2013 at 8:34 PM

      • We have had the worst winter I can remember here, with more rain, wind and cold than I knew on a miserable,January Saturday standing behind my on the Portobello. It’s hard enough keeping my toes warm, let alone dipping them in the sand. But I know that will all soon change.

        Cheers!

        March 5, 2013 at 9:33 AM

  3. A beautiful view of a city I’m yet to visit. Those pastel toned terrace houses look like a menagerie of sorbets, so sweet and it’s a fabulous capture too. I do love those days (when one rediscovers) their city, for me it’s always in the back streets of the cbd on an empty Sunday afternoon πŸ™‚

    March 4, 2013 at 8:10 PM

    • Alice, you must hurry and visit this side of the pond! You are going to LOVE Portobello/Notting Hill, not to mention London. Those colours are so delicious you really want to put them in frosting.
      Quiet Sundays are the best to rediscover, can’t wait for a sunny one to come along and baste these streets. What’s the weather like on your side?

      March 4, 2013 at 8:39 PM

  4. Portobello market is a treat…….a wonderful way to get lost among antiques, food, people and so much more. Lovely pictures!

    March 4, 2013 at 8:39 PM

    • Indeed a wonderful place. I could spend the entire day zigzagging my way down Portobello road. Just perfect! There’s a little lovely spice shop I could live in… Do you know it?

      March 4, 2013 at 8:44 PM

      • I was visiting London from California. Didn’t know about the spice shop. I checked their website. It is amazing. Thanks.

        March 5, 2013 at 10:26 AM

  5. noahnofz

    This is so nostalgic for me. There’s a great Thai restaurant above a pub somewhere in this neighborhood — it’s full of beautifully carved wooden doorways and arches, if I recall. Some day I’ll be back. But in the meantime, I enjoyed reminiscing.

    March 4, 2013 at 8:41 PM

  6. What a gorgeous post and idea for all to post- be a tourist in your own home town… πŸ˜‰

    March 6, 2013 at 8:56 PM

    • Thank you Tara. We tend to rush past what is so familiar that we don’t really notice it. Are you going to try to be a tourist in your town? Promise, you’ll be amazed at what you find πŸ™‚

      March 7, 2013 at 9:32 AM

  7. Thank you for fond memories of London town – hope to visit again soon…

    March 9, 2013 at 7:32 AM

    • John, when were you last in England? Maybe you should plan a little trip… I’m especially fond of the weather lately… We were blasted with snow a few minutes ago πŸ™‚

      March 11, 2013 at 2:34 PM

  8. listerlegs

    I really think you’re right about experimenting with own-home tourism. When you’re overseas, you actively seek out local events and interesting locations. When I return to Oz, I definitely plan to live more the way I have been in Japan; I think I’ll appreciate the place that little bit more.

    March 9, 2013 at 2:53 PM

    • Oh YES you will… And make sure you look up and around the corners too! You just never know what “beautifulness” is hiding away shyly!! Cameras are you best friends… They help you zoom in πŸ™‚ So much forgotten loveliness!!!

      March 11, 2013 at 2:54 PM

  9. Pingback: Signs of Spring- A Traipse across the Bay | Taralinda Muses

Leave a Reply

