Bring along a little piece of home

pasteis de nata


There's a new Girl in town,
Adilia, a Portuguese baker,
opened the most amazing bakery
on Norfolk Street, in Cambridge.

Up until now... When that feeling,
that a little piece of home was missing.
We Cambridge folk had no choice, but
to drive a good 10 miles out
to find the nearest Portuguese Cafe. 

The main reason being... 
Pasteis de Nata! Off course
And a good old stocking 
of those Portuguese essentials...

norfolk street bakery outside

Nrfolk Street bakery

pasteis de nata 2

pasteis de nata close

So Dear friend! 
If you happen to travel this way 
make this one of your stops. 

And If you manage to reach as far as Lisbon...
BELEM! Pasteis de Belem.
It just had to be said.

Hope you have a sweet WEEKEND!

Have you planed anything grand? 

xxx



p.s - random question. Have you joined me on facebook?
15 responses

  1. Oh stop! My other favorite Portuguese food. Can’t get them within a 100 mile radius of my house. Jealous!

    February 22, 2013 at 5:31 PM

    • I promise to post a recipe soon 🙂 In fact, I’ll make them this week just to bring Pasteis de Nata closer to you

      February 22, 2013 at 10:24 PM

      • a recipe please!!! I love Pasteis as well! Just went to Portugal for the first time in May and I think I ate a thousand of them in the 5 short days I was there. Would love a recipe. Thanks for sharing!

        February 23, 2013 at 8:13 PM

      • Hi Claire! We usually buy mini pasteis de nata when in Lisbon. No guilty feeling after eating 3 or 4 or 5 🙂 A recipe will come along very soon… Be warned, that pastry though is a tough cookie! Thanks for popping by

        February 27, 2013 at 10:19 AM

  2. People that I used to know in Lisbon took me to a Victorian café near the Belém area for custard tarts – the best ever!

    February 22, 2013 at 10:07 PM

    • You couldn’t have gotten better natas anywhere else in Lisbon… You got them right at the source! Custard tarts are in fact “Pasteis de Belem”. YUM!

      February 22, 2013 at 10:27 PM

  3. First of all, I love your blog – very clean and bright. As for your post, I went to Pasteis de Belem last year!!! The woman serving kept on calling them cookies, but those tarts were amazing. Will be impatiently expecting a recipe. 🙂

    February 25, 2013 at 7:34 PM

    • THANK YOU! So very flattered. COOKIES? Sacrebleu! I’m looking at the recipe and there’s no mention of cookies;) I’ll let you know when it’s up on the blog…

      February 27, 2013 at 10:21 AM

  4. Catia

    hmmm, piece of home indeed! I’m from Northern Portugal but pasteis de Nata are famous all over 🙂 I wish I could find them here in Canada as easily as I could in Portugal. Tried a recipe once and they were awesome but very hard to make (the pastry especially)
    As for your rissois from your other post, I make those all the time. It’s a family favourite around here 😉

    March 1, 2013 at 1:38 PM

    • Ola Catia 🙂 Pasteis de nata are absolutely a necessity! Usually there’s a box waiting at the airport upon arrival 🙂 I will be making them this coming week. Hope I can tame the pastry. Where in Portugal are you from? Anywhere near Francesinhas? hint hint nudge nudge…

      March 1, 2013 at 10:08 PM

      • Catia

        I’m from the North! A small town about 40km from Porto. And yes, Francesinhas is a pretty common find in that area. 🙂

        I make them once in a while. It’s basically a sandwich with meat, cold cuts, cheese… but the real secret is in the sauce. Each restaurant and/or family has their own secret recipe. With enfases on the SECRET, lol

        March 2, 2013 at 5:38 PM

  5. So delicious! That amazing little pool of caramelised glaze makes me long for custards centers and flaky pastry. Indeed if I am ever in that neck of the world I shall seek out these tasty looking morsels too. My sister speaks of the in redline tarts in ‘Macau’ just 45 mins from Hong Kong and the interesting cuisine that sprung there with the settlement of the Portuguese…meaning desserts too of course!

    March 2, 2013 at 10:05 AM

  6. Oh my goodness that looks good.

    March 8, 2013 at 10:47 PM

    • And can I just add… they taste like Heaven! And if you can’t find them close to where you call home… Get on a plane to Lisbon 😉 Pasteis de nata alone, are well worth the trip! PROMISE

      March 11, 2013 at 2:50 PM

      • I think there are a lot of reasons to see Lisbon.

        March 17, 2013 at 3:43 PM

Leave a Reply

