My Portuguese Kitchen | Prawn Rissole

Portuguese prawn rissole



If you've not tried Portuguese cuisine before
I'm here to tell you,
there are a very few pleasures in life
that quite match what you'll encounter
on a traditional Portuguese table.

Quite bold, strong and gutsy at times.
With entire books filled
with 1001 salt cod recipes.
And where no egg is safe
from basting boasting shop windows
with sun yellow deserts
or custard tarts enticing you into every coffee shop.

Its safe to say that you will always be positively surprised!
Enjoy My favorite and first for this series!

Portugues Rissol

Prawn Rissole detail open

My Portuguese Kitchen | A series that celebrates the amazing and simple 
flavours of our beautiful Portuguese table.

....................................................................................

RISSOIS | makes a couple of dozens

For the dough
50ml of Milk
50ml water
1/4 Tspn Salt
20gr Butter
100g Plain Flour
In a pan, pour milk, water salt and butter and bring to gentle boil. 
Just when it starts toboil, add the flour in one go and mix like crazy 
to form a ball of dough. Turn onto clean surface and cover. Let it cool...

For the filling:
1 Shallot, finely chopped
1 Garlic Clove, minced
1\2 tomato, chopped
150gr Raw choped Shrimp
1 Bay Leaf
125ml of Milk
2 spoons flour
1/3 cup Chopped parsley
Salt and pepper

Soften half the shallot in a pan and garlic on a low heat. Add tomato and after a 
few minutes add chopped shrimp. Add shell stock, allow to simmer. In a bowl, mix 
flour and milk, add to pan to thicken the filling. Add chopped parsley and finely 
chopped onion. Allow to cool completely.

To make the Rissole:

Bread crumbs
1 egg

Dust flour on your working surface and rolling pin. Roll the dough out, Place 
teaspoon of filling. Fold over and cut out a half moon with cup or cutter. Cut out 
disks of about 10cm diameter. Pinch the edges together to seal the rissole.
Beat the egg with a bit of salt and pepper, put the breadcrumbs in a tray. Dip 
the rissole in the beaten egg, than in the breadcrumbs.

Fry in fairly hot oil.

Bom Apetite!
21 responses

  1. I LOVE rissois. Enjoyed them often in Portugal and Mozambique. Uniquely Portuguese and hard to find anywhere else. Your pictures make my mouth water. . .

    February 20, 2013 at 4:42 PM

    • Rissois in Mozambique are a major treat!!! With all that wonderfully fresh prawn in every street corner… I must say though in all fairness, my mum’s are the absolute BEST!

      February 20, 2013 at 5:26 PM

  2. These look lovely! I’ve never tried Portuguese home cooking before, can’t wait to make these.

    February 20, 2013 at 4:58 PM

    • Ohhh you’re in for a treat! Make sure you roll out the dough finely, finely… Please let me know when HERE once you’ve made them!

      February 20, 2013 at 5:28 PM

      • Thank you for the tip on the dough, Stella. I’ll definitely let you know how they turn out. Thanks so much again for sharing the recipe!

        February 21, 2013 at 8:32 AM

  3. these look absolutely heavenly!

    February 20, 2013 at 6:34 PM

    • They are absolutely amazing little things! Please try it out soon… or head to your nearest Portuguese Deli/ Coffee shop. You will not be dissapointed

      February 21, 2013 at 12:06 PM

  4. Sounds amazing. Do love Portuguese food. Couldn’t quite get enough of sopa verde (if that’s spelt right).

    February 21, 2013 at 1:10 AM

    • Do you mean Caldo Verde, served with chourico slices? That’s got me wishing now… Added to the LIST! Thank you

      February 21, 2013 at 12:05 PM

      • No, I meant the green soup that they make with cabbage. In Lisbon, a city I just loved, most cafes had that as a starter to their menu del dia (I only speak a little Spanish) and I relished every drop!

        February 21, 2013 at 3:09 PM

  5. Thanks Stella – now I’ve got the midnight munchies – DROOL….

    February 23, 2013 at 10:39 AM

  6. SOmetimes having a god imagination is just not enough – this looks like a recipe worth practicing many times.

    February 26, 2013 at 10:37 PM

    • I must say my first attempt was pretty close, but saying that, I grew up seeing the consistencies and colours from my Mamas kitchen… Do give it a go! Please let me know how you get along

      February 27, 2013 at 10:24 AM

  7. I have never tried these before. Hope to do so sometime soon. So lovely.

    February 26, 2013 at 11:25 PM

    • Oh my word! You must try them soon… Be warned that you might find it difficult to stop.

      February 27, 2013 at 10:26 AM

  8. Looks so I credibly moreish and something which reminds me of those fluffy breads and savoury fillings (that surprisingly enough) the Japanese also do so well. Good thing your recipe is for a dozen because I’m certain one is not enough!

    March 2, 2013 at 10:07 AM

  9. Nice recipe and very nice pictures. Shared it on my facebook page 🙂

    March 4, 2013 at 4:58 PM

  10. Nat

    What is shell stock?

    March 8, 2013 at 12:41 PM

    • Shell Stock | It’s the lovely stuff we usually get rid off… The PRAWN Shells, don’t just bin them… Boil them and blend them and strain all that goodness. You could freeze it or refrigerate it and add to seafood dishes. YUM!!

      March 11, 2013 at 2:48 PM

  11. Jerry

    I’ve never had the opportunity to try Portuguese cuisine. As far as I know, there are no such restaurants in Texas. So…I guess I will have to do it and try it for myself. Actually, I know this dish is delightful before tasting it. However, I still need to try it because, otherwise, I won’t ever get to experience it. Thank you pangaweka. 😉

    March 15, 2013 at 11:48 PM

Leave a Reply

