Just Keep Walking

sacre cuore


It's been five years so far.
Since I started my love affair with LIFE.

I'd like to tell you a little about all that...
I was young and had my whole LIFE ahead of me,
but living it was a whole different story.

I mean, that kind of living
where you notice every detail
appreciate every instant
or make the most out of every minute...



 

 

 

 

 

 

sacre coure side view

 

 

 

 

 

 

sacre cuore detail

 

 

 

 

blue montmarte door paris

 

 

 

 

sacre cuore detail wall

Five years ago...

I was diagnosed with Group I, IPAH...
A severe and incurable disorder,
with a 2-3 year prognosis if untreated
and in my case, with an urgency for a heart and lung transplant.

I've decided to keep my little old heart!
Remained positive and made big changes
to my lifestyle and diet.

I'm slow, and breathless most of the time...
And even though I can't walk too far,
there are things I see
most people wouldn't even notice.

It has not and will not stop me...
And has instead inspired me,
rather than hindered me.
I do today,
what I would have done tomorrow,
and use up every minute of every day
and fill them with the simple things I love.

So, I keep walking...
Even if, slowly.
For there is nowhere or nothing
that is out of reach!

------------------------------

My challenge last year was 
to walk all the way to the top of Paris!
15 responses

  1. Beautiful and inspirational! Life teaches us a lot of things. I like the title, Just Keep Walking!

    February 16, 2013 at 6:21 PM

    • Life does teach… A little harshly at times, but it did sink in 🙂 I am so chuffed that I am capable of inspiring… Thank you!

      February 18, 2013 at 11:49 AM

  2. You are truly inspirational! And I love your photographs.

    February 16, 2013 at 10:12 PM

  3. Thanks for this great posts. What’s you next challenge?

    February 17, 2013 at 3:16 AM

    • Thanks for your comment… This weekend, I’m buying a bike now that the sun has graced us!

      February 18, 2013 at 11:45 AM

  4. Thanks for sharing the details with us who don’t always notice them. Life lessons. . .

    February 17, 2013 at 5:17 AM

    • Thank you for noticing my little detail…

      February 18, 2013 at 11:43 AM

  5. This tears my eyes and tears my heart – Stella – my thoughts are with you – inspired by your courage –

    February 18, 2013 at 9:20 AM

    • Thank You John! I am not courageous… Scared to my bones 😉 We rise to the challenge when given the chance.

      February 18, 2013 at 11:43 AM

  6. Thank You all for your beautiful words! I am so grateful and overwhelmed.
    Fayamatt, everyday is a challenge 🙂 5 years ago, my doctors gave me a pump to inhale 7 times a day and a string of daily pills, just to slow the deterioration long enough for a transplant. It’s been over 2 years since I last used my pumps. But, that’s another story all together…

    February 18, 2013 at 11:39 AM

  7. You are an inspiration. I want to encourage you. There is no reason to simply accept what the doctors say: The creation we are part of is much bigger than they sometimes understand, and even such conditions as yours can be healed completely by hands that are more skilled than theirs. Your attitude and faith are a joy. Keep on sharing.

    March 7, 2013 at 12:18 PM

    • Hi Stephan! Oh i absolutely agree 🙂 We are our best doctors. It’s just a matter of listening to what our body “tells” us… And the key to it all to me, has been… Simply using food as my remedy. Thank you for inspiring me to keep sharing!

      March 11, 2013 at 2:38 PM

  8. I’m interest in the name of “pangaweka” I read some article you mentioned Portugese, but your name sounds Filipino, it’s a beautiful tho, like this article! Wish U getting more healthy everyday! I rather live shortly and happy than long and sad, reading your’s I feel happy! See you soon, I’ll be back to read more. Thank’s for visiting me, greetings 🙂

    March 8, 2013 at 11:07 AM

    • Hello dear Friend!
      Pangaweka means To Do It Yourself 😉 In Chichewa, a native language from Malawi ( I was born in Malawi!)

      And Life is sweet, and if you count the minutes too, it won’t seem so short after all 🙂 Hope you come back to visit!
      You can also find me on Facebook

      March 11, 2013 at 2:45 PM

Leave a Reply

