The Box T-Shirt Project | Shibori inspired Printing

PANGAWEKA| DIY

This week I’ve become obsessed,
with colour and with making.
So I’d like to share a little of my latest obsessions
and propose a little project.

The T-shirt project, my new uniform!
And Shibori inspired Printing, my found colour!

 

folding t-shirt for shibori printing

folding t-shirt for shibori printing

Rolling t-shirt for shibori printing

rolled t-shirt for shibori printing

folding t-shirt for shibori printing| close up

Turmeric for dye pot

Turmeric for dye pot

shibori printing | Turmeric dye

shibori printing | Turmeric dye

shibori printing | Turmeric dye

Shibori print yellow turmeric t-shirt

Hope you love it too!

HERE is the Box T-shirt template!

Come along and share how yours turned out on my Facebook Page

17 responses

  1. Interesting stuff. Cool

    September 10, 2012 at 8:24 PM

  2. I am off to the craft shop to get some pigments…..Really like this project and thanks for sharing the “how to”…

    September 11, 2012 at 8:48 AM

    • I like to use natural dyes! in this case it was turmeric (if you like yellow). Please do share your results…

      September 11, 2012 at 12:21 PM

      • Only if it works! lol jokingly. Have a great day and watch out the fingers do not turn yellow….or blue or purple….

        September 11, 2012 at 12:56 PM

  3. Very nice. And you know turmeric will never come out too.

    September 12, 2012 at 2:05 PM

    • I’ve really gone crazy with this. Soon there will be yellow stripes on all white surfaces! The beauty of it all is it’s natural and ecofriendly . Will you be giving it a whirl?

      September 13, 2012 at 8:49 AM

      • Brilliant! I’ll definitely keep it in mind πŸ™‚

        September 13, 2012 at 10:21 AM

  4. It’s a beauty Stella – I will be searching my kitchen cupboards…

    September 16, 2012 at 11:14 AM

    • Thanks John! Do let me know how you get along!? Try not to get turmeric on your fingers πŸ˜‰

      September 17, 2012 at 9:43 AM

      • My fingers are already constantly covered with paint, a little turmeric can’t hurt…

        September 17, 2012 at 10:26 AM

  5. Lovely! Did you mordant the t-shirt before dyeing?

    February 14, 2013 at 5:15 AM

    • Turmeric is quite a strong one! So no mordant here… but I did boil the t-shirt for a few minutes, which seemed to intensify it all just a little… Will you be giving it a go? if so… please share results of my Facebook page

      February 14, 2013 at 3:59 PM

  6. Less is more!

    March 6, 2013 at 8:59 PM

    • Couldn’t have said it better πŸ™‚ Thank you for dropping by

      March 7, 2013 at 9:33 AM

  7. loved it!! tks for sharing!!

    March 7, 2013 at 9:10 PM

    • Have you given it a go!? I’m sure you have something white that needs a lick of sunshine turmeric YELLOW!!! You can share your results on my facebook page

      March 11, 2013 at 2:40 PM

Leave a Reply

