On Strawberry port compote and days gone by

Strawberry compote pancakes

A couple of days now,
my husband walked in 
with bags of strawberries
filled to the brim. 

I immediately stretched my hand 
and placed an apron over my head.

So now... Some will be frozen ready for smoothies.
And some will build tarts.
But, today! We have strawberry port compote.

It all got me thinking, 
of the days now gone by
when "Salady", the Malawian fruit vendor,
rang his bell and guided his bike into our yard,
heavy with seasonal veg and freshly picked fruit.

It got me thinking of how excited we'd be,
when we heard his bicycle bell. 
We'd hover around like bees
and jump around, begging my mother for this and that.

Salady, always hid something extra for us,
or at least that's what he claimed.
He knew Strawberries,
were what I'd look for though!

Strawberry port compote

Strawberry port compote

Strawberry compote pancakes

Strawberry port compote

Strawberry plates

Ingredients

400g strawberry
1/4 cup sugar
1/4 cup port 

In a medium sized pan, add strawberries and sugar and bring to gentle simmer. Add port and allow to cook until fruits are soft but whole. Stir gently until liquid has reduced to a syrupy texture. Store in fridge in an air tight jar.
3 responses

  1. mmmm very nice!

    July 30, 2012 at 11:12 AM

  2. Oh my gosh, your pics are making me want to go cook, again, now. After grilling some strawberries yesterday and making strawberry waffles on a stick for heading out on a friend’s boat last week I can’t seem to get enough strawberries! Thanks for sharing yours!
    PlantBasedDietAdventures.com

    July 30, 2012 at 3:25 PM

  3. So very gorgeous as always. You might tire of my saying how beautiful your blog is, but I’ll never tire of these wonderful images! 🙂

    July 30, 2012 at 4:42 PM

Leave a Reply

