To markets and street food

I look forward to weekends! Don't you?
Those that inspire trips to the market.
Markets scented with sweet cakes and and pungent flavours,
like Bourough market in London.
Others with up and coming designers, of eclectic imaginations,
displaying their feathers like proud peacocks in Old Spitafields court.

IMG_4146

IMG_4149

I like Petticoat market and Brick lane’s international food stalls,
it’s vintage and antique covered walls.

IMG_4154

IMG_4151

IMG_4152

Are you going to any markets this weekend? What are they like?

Photographs © Stella Pereira
11 responses

  1. VSichalwe

    The markets in Ghana are very different actually I will try and make a post about what markets are like here in Accra. It is crowed and humid and all that lol but seeing your pictures reminds me of the market in Perth, Australia. I miss it, I will defenately write more about Australia when I get there. Lovely photographs.

    June 9, 2012 at 7:21 PM

    • Last year I went to Mozambique, and also lived in Malawi for 11 years. The markets certainly didn’t have sweet lingering smells of freshly brewed coffee nor flavoured cakes! But they were rich and soulful, or perhaps it was the humidity 😉

      June 9, 2012 at 10:43 PM

      • VSichalwe

        I couldnt agree with you more, humidity ded does it.

        June 10, 2012 at 6:18 PM

  2. Wow, this takes me back. I worked in Spitafields Market for 4 years so I know the area really well. Great place to head to on a Sunday.

    June 9, 2012 at 9:14 PM

    • Hey Johnny, Spitafields is truly inspiring! I spent many Sundays there when I lived in London. Loved it every time and I’m glad you had good vibes from the pics. Thank you!

      June 9, 2012 at 10:46 PM

  3. I always love the atmosphere of markets (PS thanks for visiting my blog)

    June 15, 2012 at 10:30 AM

  4. I grew up just round the corner from Brick Lane. It’s got so trendy!

    June 20, 2012 at 10:29 PM

    • Have you been back recently!? It’s become incredibly hip and happening! LOVE IT!

      June 21, 2012 at 8:56 AM

  5. The last place I visited in London a week before I moved to Taiwan was Spitalfields and brick Lane market. Best in London. Really miss the food and atmosphere there.

    June 21, 2012 at 8:45 AM

    • It is spewing with creativity. I love Borough market too… Have you been? The food is amazing. But you are right, the Spitafields atmosphere is just special.

      June 21, 2012 at 8:58 AM

      • Yes, I used to live close to Borough Market, but always found myself in or around Spitalfields way. You can’t beat good street food!

        June 21, 2012 at 9:06 AM

Leave a Reply

